Board of Directors

Leading citizens from communities in the Cedar Valley serve on the wcfsymphony Board of Directors.

Mr. Cressy Whalen was the first president of the original Waterloo Symphony Orchestra Association, which through the decades has been the governing body guiding the organization’s functions. Over 90 years of name and venue changes a total of forty-nine different individuals have served as President of the orchestra, sixteen serving for more than one term of office. Following Mr. Whalen were Robert Parrott, Dr. Edward Rohlf, Dr. R.J. Carroll, Guy French, Ben F. Butler, Rev. David Jones, Dr. Frank Shaw, W.P. Hogan, Homer Asquith, Horace Van Metre, Dr. H.L. Sisson, Charles Swisher, Warren Mead, Sefton Abbott, Roger Tillapaugh, Richard Baker, Edward McCoy, Dr. Philip Hastings, Jay Levi, Robert Noonan, Henry Cutler, Dr. James Hutcheon, Victor Kennedy, George Day, Kathy Frerichs, Parke Behn, James Martin, James Potter, Bill Jenner, David Evans, Jean Ann Stoaks, Ed Wilson, Ken Wernimont, Marge Brom, David H. Buck, George Cemore, Jeri Jenner Karr, Joni Hollen, Wes Heitzman, David R. Mason, Mark Baldwin, Mary Kabel, Kathleen Wernimont, Richard Congdon, C. Kevin McCrindle, Russell Curtis, Steve Schmitt, Mike McCrary, David Braton, Dee Vandeventer, Joanne Lane and current president Edward J. Gallagher III.

2020-2021 Board

Edward J. Gallagher III, President – Retired Attorney

Lee Nicholas, Retired UNI Accounting Professor – CPA

Martha Kroese, Secretary – Retired Educator

Brad Jensen, President-Elect – Retired Educator

Joanne Lane, Immediate Past President – Retired

Dr. John Berry – Tri County Head Start

Stephanie Clohesy – Clohesy Consulting

Kate Dunning – Talk To Me Technologies

Jennifer Edgington – Waterloo Schools

Dr. Angeleita Floyd – Retired UNI Professor

Robin Frost – Amperage Marketing

Stephen Gaies – Retired UNI Professor

Chris Hoffman – Pathways, Inc.

James Kenyon – Retired Veterinarian/Author

Erin Lyons – Lincoln Savings Bank

J’Kalein Madison – Family & Children’s Council of Black Hawk County

Cheryl Nook – University of Northern Iowa

Alexander Pershounin – University of Northern Iowa School of Music

Scott Peters – UNI Faculty/Department Head

Felicia Smith-Nalls – City of Waterloo

Renee Veenstra – Musician

Virginia Wilber – Attorney

William Witt – Photographer