Board of Directors

Leading citizens from communities in the Cedar Valley serve on the wcfsymphony Board of Directors.

Mr. Cressy Whalen was the first president of the original Waterloo Symphony Orchestra Association, which through the decades has been the governing body guiding the organization’s functions. Over 90 years of name and venue changes a total of fifty-five different individuals have served as President of the orchestra, sixteen serving for more than one term of office. Following Mr. Whalen were Robert Parrott, Dr. Edward Rohlf, Dr. R.J. Carroll, Guy French, Ben F. Butler, Rev. David Jones, Dr. Frank Shaw, W.P. Hogan, Homer Asquith, Horace Van Metre, Dr. H.L. Sisson, Charles Swisher, Warren Mead, Sefton Abbott, Roger Tillapaugh, Richard Baker, Edward McCoy, Dr. Philip Hastings, Jay Levi, Robert Noonan, Henry Cutler, Dr. James Hutcheon, Victor Kennedy, George Day, Kathy Frerichs, Parke Behn, James Martin, James Potter, Bill Jenner, David Evans, Jean Ann Stoaks, Ed Wilson, Ken Wernimont, Marge Brom, David H. Buck, George Cemore, Jeri Jenner Karr, Joni Hollen, Wes Heitzman, David R. Mason, Mark Baldwin, Mary Kabel, Kathleen Wernimont, Richard Congdon, C. Kevin McCrindle, Russell Curtis, Steve Schmitt, Mike McCrary, David Braton, Dee Vandeventer, Joanne Lane, Edward J. Gallagher III, Brad Jensen, and current president, Martha Kroese. The current board of directors is show below:

  • Martha Kroese – President
  • Chris Hoffman – President Elect
  • Dr. John Berry – Secretary
  • Russell Curtis – Treasurer
  • Brad Jensen – Immediate Past President
  • Stephanie Clohesy
  • Russell Curtis
  • Dr. Angeleita Floyd
  • Edward J. Gallagher III
  • Randy Grabowski
  • Carl Hartson
  • Kristina Kofoot
  • Alexis Kraayenbrink
  • Gary Kroeger
  • Dr. Sohyun Meacham
  • Dr. Shuaib Meacham
  • Lee Nicholas
  • Alexander Pershounin
  • Scott Peters
  • Renee Veenstra
  • Anthony Williams


Get the latest news, events & updates from our Newsletter